The Nelson Mandela University Trust (IT48/2001(E)) operates in terms of a trust deed that was revised in 2015.  Nelson Mandela University is the sole beneficiary of the Trust. The Trust is registered with SARS as a Public Benefit Organisation (PBO Registration Number 18/11/13/3878) and as such is able to issue Section 18A tax certificates for certain categories of donations that qualify for tax rebates.

It is responsible for mobilising resources for the University through donations in cash and kind, and managing the investment asset of the Trust.  In 2017 Trustees of the Nelson Mandela University Trust established the Nelson Mandela University Investment Company to undertake certain strategic commercialisation initiatives. The Trust is the sole shareholder of the company.

Sound corporate governance is at the heart of the responsibilities of nine Trustees who are entrusted with managing the affairs of the Trust. They are:

  • Ms Nozipho January-Bardill (Chairperson)
  • Mr Siyabulela Mhlaluka (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Mr Donald McLean
  • Ms Maureen Manyama
  • Mr Luvuyo Mosana
  • Prof Sibongile Muthwa
  • Mr Eric Ratshikhopha
  • Dr Derrick Swartz
  • Ms Zola Tshefu

The SRMA renders administrative and logistical support for the operations of the Trust.

In 2016, the Trust mobilised some R56,5 million in donations, largely for bursaries and scholarships and engagement projects at Nelson Mandela University. In 2017 it succeeded raising some R102 million in donations for the University. Full details of the resources mobilised by the Trust for the University in 2016 and 2017 can be found in the annual reports for these years.

These achievements were only possible due to the generosity of the many individuals, NPOs, private sector companies and government entities which have supported the University though the Trust.

Ms Nosipho January-Bardill

Mr Siyabulela Mhlaluka

Mr Donald McLean

Ms Maureen Manyama

Dr Derick Swartz



Mr Luvuyo Mosana

Prof Sibongile Muthwa

Mr Eric Ratshikhopa